View post in German

About

One of the undoubted highlights on our school calendar is the bi-annual Sportolympiade of the five German schools of Southern Africa (DSJ, Deutsche Internationale Schule Kapstadt, Deutsche Schule Pretoria, Deutsche Höhere Privatschule Windhoek and Deutsche Schule Hermannsburg) as well as athletes from Ghana and Ethiopia. The first running of the Sportolympiade took place in Pretoria in 1986 and was the brainchild of Günther Kesselmann from Windhoek.

As the name suggests, it is a sporting showpiece where athletes partake in the following disciplines: athletics, handball, soccer, volleyball, basketball, tennis and swimming. The DSJ has played host to three editions of the Sportolympiade (1990, 2000 and 2014) and has won 12 of the 17 which have taken place.

The Sportolympiade usually lasts the duration of a week and includes opening and closing ceremonies. Both ceremonies are special for different reasons, with the opening providing terrific entertainment while the closing ceremony provides a  totally different atmosphere. The sense of anticipation ahead of the announcement of the results creates a truly special environment.

Traditionally each team will consist of approximately 50 athletes plus the coaching staff. While competition on the field is fierce, the Sportolympiade is more than just a simple sporting battle.  It builds friendships and instills the values of the ‘Olympic Spirit’. There is also a real sense of ‘community’ as visiting athletes are accommodated by families of the host school.

To host an Sportolympiade is no easy task and requires months and sometimes years of planning by the organisers – all of which can change if the weather does not play its part.

Possibly the most famous DSJ Sportolympiade ‘graduate’ is Dominik Meichtry (Grade 12 2003). Dominik represented Switzerland at three Olympic Games (2004 in Athens, 2008 in Beijing and 2012 in London) and won over 30 Swiss national titles.

View post in Englisch

About

Einer der unbestrittenen Höhepunkte unseres Schulkalenders ist die Sportolympiade der fünf deutschen Schulen des südlichen Afrikas (DSJ, Deutsche Internationale Schule Kapstadt, Deutsche Schule Pretoria, Deutsche Höhere Privatschule Windhoek und Deutsche Schule Hermannsburg) sowie von Athleten aus Äthiopien, die alle zwei Jahre stattfindet. Der erste Wettkampf fand 1986 in Pretoria statt und wurde von Günther Kesselmann aus Windhoek entwickelt.

Wie der Name schon sagt, handelt es sich bei dieser Olympiade um ein sportliches Aushängeschild, an dem die Athleten in folgenden Disziplinen teilnehmen: Leichtathletik, Handball, Fußball, Volleyball, Basketball und Schwimmen. Die DSJ war bisher Gastgeber drei dieser Veranstaltungen (1990, 2000 und 2014) und gewann 12 der 17 ausgetragenen Wettkämpfe.

Die Sportolympiade dauert in der Regel eine Woche und beinhaltet Eröffnungs- und Abschlusszeremonien. Beide Zeremonien haben ihren ganz besonderen Charakter, wobei die Eröffnung für tolle Unterhaltung sorgt, während die Abschlusszeremonie durch eine ganz andere Atmosphäre geprägt ist. Die hohen Erwartungen an die Veröffentlichung der Ergebnisse schaffen eine ganz besondere Stimmung.

Traditionell besteht jedes Team aus ca. 50 Athleten und dem Coaching-Team. Die Sportolympiade ist mehr als nur die erbitternden Wettkämpfe auf dem Sportplatz/Spielfeld. Es baut Freundschaften auf und vermittelt die Werte des „Olympischen Geistes”. Es entsteht auch ein echtes Gemeinschaftsgefühl, da die Gastathleten in den Familien der Gastschule untergebracht sind.

Eine Sportolympiade zu veranstalten ist keine leichte Aufgabe und erfordert monatelange und manchmal jahrelange Planung durch die Organisatoren – was sich alles ändern könnte, wenn das Wetter nicht mitspielt.

Der wohl berühmteste Absolvent der DSJ Sportolympiade ist Dominik Meichtry (Klasse 12 2003). Dominik vertrat die Schweiz an drei Olympischen Spielen (2004 in Athen, 2008 in Peking und 2012 in London) und gewann über 30 Landesmeisterschaften in der Schweiz.