Circular
Loading...
Home 2017-09-06T12:00:24+00:00

View post in German

Welcome!

I am very pleased to be able to welcome you to the home page of the Deutsche Internationale Schule Johannesburg (DSJ). We are a cosmopolitan, multicultural, German-South African school of encounter, supported by the German Federal government. As the oldest private co-educational  school in Johannesburg, we are proud to be a reflection of the South African rainbow nation and view diversity and encounter as an asset and an opportunity.

At the DSJ we offer a German, as well as a South African stream for all learners interested in the German language and culture. From Grade 10 onwards, learners decide whether they want to aim for the German-South African Kombi-Abitur or the South African National Senior Certificate (IEB), in combination with the Deutsches Sprachdiplom (DSDll) (German Language Certificate).

Our educational mission places particular importance on

  • educating young people to become self-confident, independent personalities, with critical thinking skills that encourage personal and social responsibilities;
  • the promotion of subject-related competencies and the holistic development of personalities.
  • the strengthening of inter-cultural sensitivities of our learners by cultivating respect for their own culture and appreciation of other cultures.

As an open full-day school we are not only a school, but also a nurturing environment and therefore, besides lessons, offer our children and learners from Grade 1 to 12 a variety of extramural activities, including afternoon and holiday care.

Due to our active school community and the outstanding academic performance of our learners, we have not only been rated amongst the most successful schools in Johannesburg, but were also awarded the title “Exzellente Auslandsschule ” in 2011 and were awarded the  “Deutscher Schulpreis” as best German school outside of Germany in 2016.

On this home page we hope to provide you with an overview of the goals, content, structures of and activities at our complex educational institution. Should you have further questions or require additional information, please feel free to contact us. You are also most welcome to visit us, be it on the Open Day, at our annual Schulbasar or just because you would like to pop in.

Kind Regards

Thomas Bachmeier
Principal

VISION

The “Deutsche Internationale Schule Johannesburg” offers young people the best preparation for the complex challenges of a global world.

MISSION

At the “Deutsche Internationale Schule Johannesburg” we:

• offer and have offered since our inception in 1890, co-educational teaching of the highest standards leading to excellent final results in national, German and international examinations such as the South African National Senior Certificate, the German International Abitur and a German Language Diploma;

• are open to all young people, including non-German speakers, who are interested in the German culture and would like to learn the German language;

• educate young people to become self-confident personalities with independent and critical thinking skills coupled with personal and social responsibility;

• promote both subject competence and the development of the whole personality of each learner;

• strengthen the inter-cultural sensitivities of our learners by cultivating respect for their own culture and appreciation of other cultures.

Latest News

Load More News

Partners and Sponsors

Rundschreiben
Loading...
Startseite 2017-09-06T11:59:21+00:00

View post in Englisch

Herzlich willkommen!

Sehr geehrte Besucherin, sehr geehrter Besucher, ich freue mich sehr, Sie auf der Homepage der Deutschen Internationalen Schule Johannesburg (DSJ) begrüßen zu dürfen. Wir sind eine weltoffene, multikulturelle, deutsch-südafrikanische, von der Bundesrepublik Deutschland geförderte Begegnungsschule. Als älteste koedukative Privatschule der Weltmetropole Johannesburg sind wir mit Stolz ein Spiegelbild der Regenbogennation Südafrika und begreifen Vielfalt und Begegnung als Reichtum und Chance.

An der DSJ bieten wir für alle an der deutschen Sprache und Kultur interessierten Schülerinnen und Schüler sowohl einen deutschen als auch einen südafrikanischen Schulzweig an. In der 10. Jahrgangsstufe entscheiden sich die Schülerinnen und Schüler, ob sie das deutsch-südafrikanische Kombiabitur oder das südafrikanische National Senior Certificate (IEB) in Verbindung mit dem Deutschen Sprachdiplom (DSDII) anstreben.

Bei unserer pädagogischen Arbeit legen wir besonderen Wert auf

  • die Erziehung unserer Schülerinnen und Schüler zu starken und selbstbewussten Persönlichkeiten, die kritisch denken sowie eigen- und sozialverantwortlich handeln können.
  • das Fördern der fachlichen Kompetenzen und der ganzheitlichen Entwicklung der Persönlichkeit.
  • die Stärkung der interkulturellen Kompetenz durch Respekt gegenüber der eigenen und Toleranz gegenüber anderen Kulturen.

Als offene Ganztagsschule sind wir nicht nur Schule, sondern auch Lebensraum und bieten deshalb   unseren Kindern, Schülerinnen und Schülern vom ersten Lebensjahr bis zur 12. Jahrgangsstufe neben dem Unterricht eine Vielfalt an außerunterrichtlichen Aktivitäten, einschließlich einer Nachmittags- und Ferienbetreuung an.

Dank unserer aktiven Schulgemeinschaft und den herausragenden akademischen Leistungen unserer Schülerinnen und Schülern gehören wir seit vielen Jahren nicht nur zu den erfolgreichsten Schulen Johannesburgs, sondern erhielten im Jahr 2011 die Auszeichnung „Exzellente Auslandsschule“ und 2016 den „Deutschen Schulpreis“ als beste Deutsche Auslandsschule.

Auf dieser Homepage versuchen wir, Ihnen einen Überblick über Ziele, Inhalte, Strukturen und Aktivitäten unserer komplexen Bildungseinrichtung zu geben. Sollten Sie weitere Fragen haben oder weitere Informationen benötigen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte oder besuchen Sie uns, sei es am „Tag der offenen Tür“, an unserem jährlichen Schulbasar zusammen mit 10.000 anderen Gästen oder auch einfach so.

Bis dahin verbleibe ich mit freundlichen Grüßen

Thomas Bachmeier
Schulleiter

VISION

„Die Deutsche Internationale Schule Johannesburg (DSJ) ermöglicht jungen Menschen die beste Vorbereitung auf die vielfältigen Ansprüche in einer globalisierten Welt“

MISSION

Wir, die Deutsche Internationale Schule Johannesburg,…

• bieten seit unserer Gründung im Jahr 1890 koedukativen Unterricht auf höchstem pädagogischen Niveau und führen so zu exzellenten nationalen, deutschen und internationalen Abschlüssen (South African National Senior Certificate, Deutsches Internationales Abitur, Deutsches Sprachdiplom)

• sind offen für alle – auch Nicht-Deutschsprachige – die an der deutschen Kultur interessiert sind und die deutsche Sprache erlernen möchten

• erziehen junge Menschen zu starken und selbstbewussten Persönlichkeiten mit selbständigem und kritischem Denken sowie eigen- und sozialverantwortlichem Handeln

• fördern die fachlichen Kompetenzen und die ganzheitliche Entwicklung der Persönlichkeit jedes einzelnen Schülers

• stärken als internationale Schule die interkulturelle Kompetenz unserer Schülerinnen und Schüler durch Respekt gegenüber der eigenen Kultur und Toleranz gegenüber anderen Kulturen

Aktuelles

Weitere Informationen

Partner & Sponsoren